Board Committees | El Camino Hospital

Board Committees

Board Committees

The El Camino Hospital Board operates with the support of its six Advisory Committees. Each Committee is comprised of Board members and, since July 2012, individuals from the community. Community members are selected for their subject matter expertise and come from a wide range of business, academic and healthcare backgrounds. The current composition of each Committee was approved by the Board at its meeting in June 2017.

*denotes a Board member

Corporate Compliance/Privacy and Audit Committee

The Corporate Compliance/Privacy and Audit Committee (“Compliance Committee”) advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”) in its exercise of oversight by monitoring the compliance policies, controls, and processes of the organization and the engagement, independence, and performance of the internal auditor and external auditor. The Compliance Committee assists the Board in oversight of any regulatory audit and in assuring the organizational integrity of El Camino Hospital in a manner consistent with its mission and purpose.

Chair: John Zoglin*
Members: Sharon Anolik Shakked, Lica Hartman, Robert Rebitzer*, and Christine Sublett

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Diane Wigglesworth
Iftikhar Hussain, Deb Muro, Mary Rotunno, Mick Zdeblick, Alex Robison (Protiviti)

Executive Compensation Committee

The Executive Compensation Committee (“Exec Comp Committee”) assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”) in its responsibilities related to the Hospital’s executive compensation philosophy and policies. The Exec Comp Committee shall advise the Board to meet all legal and regulatory requirements as it relates to executive compensation.

Chair: Bob Miller
Members: Lanhee Chen, JD, PhD*, Teri Eyre, Jaison Layney, Julia Miller*, and Patricia Wadors

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Kathryn Fisk
Julie Johnston, Cindy Murphy

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee provides oversight, information sharing, and financial reviews related to budgeting, capital budgeting, long-range financial planning and forecasting, and monthly financial reporting for El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”). In carrying out its review, advisory and oversight responsibilities, the Finance Committee shall remain flexible in order to best define financial strategies that react to changing conditions.

Chair: John Zoglin*
Members: Joseph Chow, Boyd Faust, William Hobbs, Richard Juelis, and David Reeder*

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Iftikhar Hussain
Mick Zdeblick

Governance Committee

Governance Committee advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”) in matters related to governance, board development, board effectiveness, and board composition, i.e., the nomination and appointment/reappointment process. The Governance Committee ensures the Board and Committees are functioning at the highest level of governance standards.

Chair: Peter Fung, MD*
Members: Gary Kalbach, Christina Lai, Peter Moran, Robert Rebitzer*

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: CEO
Cindy Murphy

Investment Committee

The Investment Subcommittee develops and recommends to the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”) the investment policies governing the Hospital’s assets, maintain current knowledge of the management and investment funds of the Hospital, and provide oversight of the allocation of the investment assets.

Chair: Jeffrey Davis, MD*
Members: Nicola Boone, John Conover, Brooks Nelson, Gary Kalbach, and John Zoglin*

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Iftikhar Hussain

Quality, Patient Care, Patient Experience Committee

The Quality, Patient Care and Patient Experience Committee (“Quality Committee”) advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors (“Board”) in constantly enhancing and enabling a culture of quality and safety at El Camino Hospital, to ensure delivery of effective, evidence-based care for all patients, and to oversee quality outcomes of all services of El Camino Hospital. The Quality Committee helps to assure that exceptional patient care and patient experiences are attained through monitoring organizational quality and safety measures, leadership development in quality and safety methods, and assuring appropriate resource allocation to achieve this purpose.

Chair David Reeder*
Members: Katherine Anderson, Mikele Bunce, Nancy Carragee, RN, Jeffrey Davis, MD*, Peter C. Fung, MD*, Robert Pinsker, MD, JD, Wendy Ron, and Melora Simon

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: William Faber, MD
Shreyas Mallur, MD, Cheryl Reinking, RN, MS, Daniel Shin, MD, and Mick Zdeblick