Referral Line 800-216-5556 | Text Size: View larger font-size View regular font-size

El Camino Hospital Board Committees

In January 2012 the El Camino Hospital Board announced it would seek 15 community members to join six Board committees as listed below.  On July 3, 2012 the Board announced that twenty-one individuals had been appointed. The new members were selected for their subject matter expertise and come from a wide range of business, academic and health care backgrounds. Committee members were reappointed in July of 2013.

Corporate Compliance/Privacy and Audit Committee

The Corporate Compliance/Privacy and Audit Committee advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors in its exercise of oversight by monitoring the compliance policies, controls and processes of the organization and by the engagement, independence and performance of the internal auditor and external auditor. The Compliance and Audit Committee assists the Board in oversight of any regulatory audit and in assuring the organizational integrity of El Camino Hospital in a manner consistent with its mission and purpose.

Chair: John Zoglin
Members: Wes Alles, Sharon Anolik Shakked, Dennis Chiu, Ramy Houssaini, and Christine Sublett

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Diane Wigglesworth
Ned Borgstrom, Mitch Olejko, JD, Alex Robison (Protiviti), Greg Walton, Tomi Ryba

Executive Compensation Committee

The purpose of the Executive Compensation Committee ("Compensation Committee") is to assist the El Camino Hospital (ECH) Hospital Board of Directors ("Board") in its responsibilities related to the Hospital's executive compensation philosophy and policies. The Compensation Committee shall ensure that the Board meets all applicable legal and regulatory requirements as it relates to executive compensation.

Chair: Nandini Tandon, PhD
Members: Dennis Chiu, JD (alternate), Jeffrey Davis, MD (alternate), David Reeder, Julia Miller, Teri Eyre, Jing Liao, Bob Miller and Prasad Setty

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Julie Johnston, Kathryn Fisk
Tomi Ryba

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee provides oversight, information sharing and financial reviews related to budgeting, capital budgeting, long-­‐range financial planning and forecasting, and monthly financial reporting for El Camino Hospital Board of Directors. In carrying out its review, advisory and oversight responsibilities, the Finance Committee shall remain flexible in order to best define strategic financial strategies that react to changing conditions. 

Chair: Dennis Chiu, JD
Members: Bill Hobbs, Richard Juelis, Nandini Tandon, PhD, John Zoglin

Committee Staff
Interim Executive Sponsor: Ned Borgstrom

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors in matters related to governance, board development, board effectiveness and board composition, i.e., the nomination and appointment / reappointment process. The Governance Committee ensures the Board and committees are following best practices and functioning at the highest level of governance standards.

Chair: Julia Miller
Members: Gary Kalbach, Christina Lai (appointed Feb 2014), Peter Moran, Nandini Tandon, PhD, and David Reeder

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Tomi Ryba

Investment Committee

The Investment Subcommittee develops and recommends to the Finance Committee of the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors the investment policies governing the hospital's assets, maintains current knowledge of the management and investment of the invested funds of the hospital, and provides oversight of the allocation of the investment assets for optimum return on investment and risk management.

Chair: John Zoglin
Members: Jeffrey Davis, MD, Nicki Boone, Ethan Cohen-Cole, PhD, Brooks Nelson

Committee Staff
Interim Executive Sponsor: Ned Borgstrom

Quality, Patient Care, Patient Experience Committee

The Quality, Patient Care and Patient Experience Committee advises and assists the El Camino Hospital Board of Directors in constantly enhancing and enabling a culture of maximum quality and safety at the Hospital, and to ensure delivery of effective, evidence-­‐based care for all patients. The Quality Committee helps to assure that excellent patient care and exceptional patient experience are attained through monitoring organizational quality and safety measures, leadership development in quality and safety methods and assuring appropriate resource allocation to achieve this purpose.

Chairperson: David Reeder
Members: Jeffery Davis, MD, Patricia Einarson, MD, Katherine Anderson, Elizabeth (Lisa) Joyce Freeman, R. Cary Hill, Jr., MD, and Robert Pinsker, MD, JD

Committee Staff
Executive Sponsor: Eric Pifer, MD
Cheryl Reinking and Mick Zdeblick